A Good Rifle Sling is More Than Just a Carrier

Windmill 12

If you visit basspro.com and search for rifle slings, you’ll find a lot of options.  Read the user feedback, and it primarily revolves around how well the rifle stays on your shoulder when you’re hunting.  This is the main goal of a carry strap, but a true rifle sling is meant to do much more.  It can steady your shot to give you much needed accuracy in the Nebraska Sandhills, where good shooting opportunities are measured in hundreds of hards.

Here’s a great video showing how to do it properly.  I have to admit, I didn’t know about this in previous years.  I’ve tried it out at home, though, and it works great.  I’m looking forward to using it in the wild!

Another thing I gleaned from this and other videos is that I think I rely on the offhand shot (as in, shooting from a free-standing position) too much…

View original post 100 more words

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

